Book Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Si25781800xteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist. – Summary from GoodReads

My Thoughts:

Rating: 2.5 – 3 stars

I feel so bad to give this book a low rating even though it was well written but I just didn’t like it. I’m not into politics and I prefer to say away from all that. If you’re the opposite, then I can assure you that you’ll really enjoy this story.

The story starts when Tess’s older sister moves her to DC. As reluctant as Tess was, she soon comes to terms with her new life and gets tangled up in things that are beyond her. That doesn’t stop her from trying to find out what’s going on, helping her friends and getting tangled up in all the shady business.

She’s such a cool character. Like seriously, our heroine threatens to castrate bullies. Yup, she really did that!

Tess is brave, compassionate, a little reckless at times but you can totally root for someone like her.

I really enjoyed the first half of the book. There were scenes that made me laugh (these kids know how to play the headmaster with their ridiculous excuses)and the twist towards the end was pretty good but in the second half I started dozing off. I just couldn’t wait for the book to end. I ended up skim reading through the last 30 pages. 😦

Anyway, good story if you’re don’t mind political stuff, great writing and an awesome lead character. Go for it.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s