Book Review: Vicious by V.E. Schwab

18484929

Vicious (Vicious #1) by V.E. Schwab

Published: 2013

Format: Kindle

Pages: 366

Favourite quotes: “Plenty of humans were monstrous, and plenty of monsters knew how to play at being human.”

“I want to believe that there’s more. That we could be more. Hell, we could be heroes.”

 

4.5 Extraordinary Stars

Vicious, a great story about revenge, jealousy, supernatural powers and crazy people. I mean it, the things that these characters did were c-r-a-z-y. The novel pulls you in from the very first scene, a man and young girl digging up a grave, to the very last. At first it’s a little confusing as to how the chapters are set, jumping from present, other characters background info to 10 years ago where we meet two arrogant best friends in college. Eli and Victor are very ambitious and one of them is more delusional than the other (I’ll talk about this in a sec) however they are also complete opposites. Eli is the guy who knows how to charm people with his smile while Victor is the more keep-to-the-self and likes blocking out words in books with black ink (how dare you, Victor) kind of guy. Yet, they both see a small monster in each other.

The crazy starts when they have to form a thesis for a class. Victor’s thesis is the normal kind yet Eli’s was about extraordinary people and powers and how near death experience and the right kind of thinking can lead to supernatural abilities. Victor’s ego wouldn’t stand to be anyone’s sidekick so he suggests to actually test it out, offering himself as the guinea pig so that he can get credit and sort of co-own this thesis. Of course things never go they way you really want them to and soon after all the crazy experiments and events that follow Victor lands up in jail. (And so the long path of revenge begins.) There he friends Mitch, who despite his looks and size, is actually pretty good at hacking. Oh man, this guys story is quite unfortunate which we learn more about later on in the book. Such a shame, his mama was right.  Victor and Mitch break out of prison and comes across a young girl, Sydney, with a gun shot wound.

Together, this unlikely team bands together to make Eli Ever pay.

I really enjoyed Vicious. I loved the way the story flowed, thanks to the way V.E. Schwab wrote it. The characters were all flawed. There were no heroes and good people. (Though Sydney had it bad. Her sister was just as deluded and crazy as Eli was. Match made in heaven, really.) I especially loved the point that was made i.e. ‘gaining superpowers doesn’t automatically lead to heroism’. It’s really uncommon to see that, usually all books about supernatural powers are about hero’s gaining them and saving the world. The end.

Oh boy, if there was one character that I would bitch-slap that would be Eli Ever. This guy gained a power in which his body heals immediately. He had this idea that God chose him and gave him this ability to heal therefore all the others should just die because they are unnatural. DUDE, YOU’RE UNNATURAL TOO! It amazed me how he actually truly believed that he was special. The chosen one. Which led to the dilemma about how to kill a guy who can’t be killed? Though I have to admit, Victor’s plan was actually brilliant.

Another stupid thing was how Sydney’s sister, Serena, actually believed in whatever nonsense he was spewing out. It got to the point where I just wanted to see Victor finish them off as soon as possible.

I’m surprised to see that there’s going to be a sequel. To be honest, this book does well as a stand alone but it would be nice to read more about Vic, Sydney and Mitch. I can’t wait to see what Ms. Schwab has in store for the next book.

16 thoughts on “Book Review: Vicious by V.E. Schwab

  1. RedHeadedBookLover says:

    Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them because they are all equally great.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful. I am so happy I came across your blog and found it because I do really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Like

  2. Tiny Reads says:

    I’m glad you loved Vicious. Thinking about it, I think I like it better now than while I was reading it … it was so frustrating to read at times, probably because of the very flawed characters, but when I talk about it I can’t help but praise the book. Go figure … Eli is the worst ! But I think the most dangerous villains are the ones who think they’re doing good, without realising that they’re part of the problem. And I didn’t know there would be a sequel, that’s exciting !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    great review! I loved this book too and am looking forward to the sequel- though I agree, it didn’t need one, but I’m still ecstatic about getting one 🙂 I really recommend A Darker Shade of Magic as well if you haven’t read it- it’s fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

