Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

16101128Title: The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave #1)
by Rick Yancey

Pages: 474

Published: May 7th 2013

Format: Kindle

Genre: YA Dystopia

Summary from Goodreads:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains.
After the 2nd, only the lucky escape.
And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive.
After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

MY THOUGHTS:

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟✰✰

Once again I have read a book that I liked but far from loving it. I just hope that the next book I read will be rated higher than 3 stars. I’m in desperate need of a book that gets my heart pumping and blows my mind.

Sadly, The 5th Wave did not live up to my expectations. It was well written and very movie-like but as I kept reading I had to remind myself what the plot was about. The beginning of the book was very captivating as we get to see Cassie being a total badass by killing someone. (Okay, that kind of sounds like a bad thing to say but the whole scene was great 😀 )

At first, I really liked Cassie’s character. She was fun, sarcastic and funny considering she’s alone and the only company she has is a teddy bear. However, later on in the book when Cassie meets Evan Walker, she turns into a gooey mess of feels. That’s not how it’s supposed to go. I’m (the reader) supposed to turn into a gooey mess of feels for their scenes, not the other way around. Instead, their ‘romance’ was so cheesy and I definitely wasn’t buying what the author was selling. Towards the end of the book, there was a moment were I could feel a little chemistry between them but then in the next paragraph. . .poof . . gone. Back to cheesy town.

That wasn’t the only thing that I had an issue with. In fact, there were plenty of things that were wrong. For example, Cassie’s rule. Trust no one.  That rule completely flew out of the window when she looked into Evan’s chocolate brown eyes and smelt his chocolate breath. XD yes, you read right.

C. S for Completely Stupid (Her words, not mine. I swear!) acted a lot like a teenage girl, which she it but the world has ended, you’ve seen your parents die in front of you, you’ve been by yourself for months, there’s no time to revert back to a girly teen attitude. And she’s constantly frustrated. I’m not even sure how many times she said she’s frustrated and angry. (Which I guess is acceptable in her situation?) Though there’s something that I admire about her. She’s calls out on herself when she’s wrong. All the stupid stuff she had done, she owns up to it and knows what an idiot she was. I liked that.

Another confusing thing about the novel was the point of view. In the beginning, you have Cassie breaking down what’s happening and how the waves occurred. There were some really impressive action scenes. I wish there was a lot more! All of a sudden the point of view changes and I thought I’m still reading Cassie’s view but no, it’s Ben.

I agree with others when they said this book had loads of potential because it did. For me, I felt it was very predictable. I’m not sure if that’s what the author was intending or not. I’m hoping the next book will be better. Don’t get me wrong. The fact that I read 400+ pages of this means that I did enjoy reading it but it could have been ten times better.

I would recommend reading it to anyone who likes dystopia and aliens but don’t expect too much from character development or the plot itself. (And the names of some of the characters were ridiculous. It made me want to laugh in serious moments. There’s Poundcake, Dumbo, Oompa and Teacup. Like whaaaaaat? XD )

I’m looking forward to the movie. Just waiting for the DVD to come out. Does the movie portray it better?

Have you read the book? What did you think of it? 🙂

18 thoughts on “Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. ofbooksandink says:

    This is EXACTLY how I felt about the Fifth Wave! Finally someone who feels the same way! I had really high hopes because of all the hype surrounding it, and whilst it was a nice and fun read, it didn’t come close to my YA Fantasy favorites.

    I haven’t seen the movie because it didn’t come out in my city. I really wanted to, though!

    -Manya (ofbooksandink.wordpress.com )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raihana @hanareads says:

      I’m glad that there’s others who feel the same way 😀 This book was slightly disappointing since there was so much hype around it. Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

      Ah, the movie came out in my country but I’d rather watch it on bluray instead.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

