Review: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

26365537

Title: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

Format: eBook

Published: February 25th 2016

Summary:

‘Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’
‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’
‘Maybe.’

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels. Kindred Spirits is an engaging short story by Rainbow Rowell, author of the bestselling Eleanor & Park, Fangirl and Carry On, and is part of a handful of selected short reads specially produced for World Book Day.


 

MY THOUGHTS

Rating: 5 Stars

Here’s the thing with short stories, it’s either you love it or you hate it. I’d say Kindred Spirits falls under the category of I DAMN RIGHT LOVED IT. Going into this story, my expectations were quite low. I mean, how much can you expect from a short story, right? There is so much limitations when it comes to these stories that it’s hard for a writer to express themselves completely and for the reader to grasp the true meaning. It seems like Rainbow Rowell can write a story about a cat and dog falling in love and I’m sure it will be just as delightful as all her other stories. Her writing is so natural and easy going, you’ll want to read it forever.

Despite this being so short, she managed to write such deep characters. I was so ecstatic and surprised as to how much I could relate to Elena. Girl, my mum says I look 12, too! She’s smart, funny and a very likeable girl.

I’m not so sure as to why they thought it would be good idea to write “for older readers” on the cover because anyone who knows what’s it like to love and fangirl over something would be able to relate to this story. I’ve never watched Star Wars but I do understand most of the references.

The story begins with Elena joining a line outside the movie theatre so that she can be part of the epicness with her fellow Star Wars lovers but turns out, there’s only two other people there. I LOVED their interactions with each other. I feel like I’m failing at describing how good this book was, so I guess I’ll just pressure you into reading it. GO READ IT NOW. hahaha

It was so funny and entertaining. However, my favourite scenes were with Gabe, Elena and the pee scenes. I couldn’t stop laughing! 😀

I would definitely recommend this short story to anyone. It’s cute, humorous and entertaining.

PS: Rainbow, please write more short stories. I’ll do anything. 

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    Thank you for this great review! I’m going to read that book soon, and you made me even more impatient. You’re right, it’s SO hard to get attached and to make characters relatable in such a short amount of time. I’m glad to hear that Rainbow Rowell did that perfectly. She’s awesome, isn’t she? 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

